General Information Erasmus+

General Requirements to Erasmus+ Exchange

Erasmus+ programme

The Erasmus+ programme forms part of the Europe 2020 strategy and the Rethinking Education strategy and covers all the initiatives for education, training, youth and sport. In terms of education it includes all levels: school, professional training, higher education and adult education and training.

Action 1 in the Erasmus+ programme includes mobility for students from the higher education institutions in the 28 member states of the European Union, the countries of the European Economic Area (Iceland Lichtenstein and Norway) and Turkey and the Republic of Macedonia.  

Switzerland has been excluded from participating in the Erasmus + program. To apply for a grant within the Swiss-European Mobility Program fund, it is necessary to contact directly the International Relations Office of the Swiss university of destination. You can consult more information in this link:

This call for applications aims to promote the Erasmus+ programme among PhD students at the UAB. The Erasmus+ programme enables posterior recognition of courses taken abroad. This recognition is in accordance with the learning agreement that the PhD students has made with the coordinator of the PhD programme before leaving.

PhD students pay the fees to the university of origin and have free registration at the host institution, where they have the right to the same services as local PhD students, in the same conditions. The host university must make the necessary information available about the stay, the accommodation options and the registration procedure.

The fact of undertaking an exchange visit to the destination university does not give the automatic right to obtain the qualification from that university.

The award of places at the destinations of this competition does not necessarily imply the granting of financial assistance.